Shatter Me Review

About the book:13455782.jpg

Title: Shatter Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi

Genre & Age Group: Dystopian, sci-fi, romance, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.

The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.

The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.

Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: I had heard about it before on Goodreads and from the blogosphere, so when I saw it at my local library, I decided to give it a go!

Review:

When I first heard about this book, I completely overlooked it and its potential. I just thought, “Oh, it’s just another one of those popular dystopians,” and didn’t really think much about reading it. But after finding it at my public library, I decided to try it. After all, it did look pretty interesting!

Oh, was I right! I got hooked after reading maybe the first 10 pages, and I knew straight away that this would be a 4.5 or 5 star read. This book has an amazing plot, characters, setting, and even more to captivate readers!

To sum the book up, it focuses on a 17-year old girl named Juliette, whose touch can literally kill. When she unintentionally killed a little boy by trying to help him up when he fell down at a grocery store, she got locked up in jail, unable to escape. Why Juliette’s touch is fatal is a mystery, and completely forgotten about as the world around her becomes a disaster zone. But Juliette’s touch may actually be needed out there in order to save some of the chaos that is happening…

I found the characters to be such a pleasure to read about, despite the undeniable love triangle going on between some of the characters (I don’t want to spoil it!). I thought that Juliette had a very kind soul, as she really didn’t want to kill anyone using her sense of touch, even if they actually, badly deserved it. This means that she really cared about other people’s feelings and understood all the consequences that would happen if she did kill someone, which I totally admire. I really enjoy reading stories about brave, empathetic characters, and this one is no exception!

Adam is officially one of my new book crushes!❤️😍The loyalty and amount of care he had for Juliette was just phenomenal, and he was just overall a smart, amazing person. I totally ship them [insert ship name here😝]!

Now for Warner, I understand how some people could absolutely love his character and how some don’t, but I’m sort of in between. I really don’t think he’s the right person for Juliette, and not really the nicest, most agreeable guy, either. I’m guessing that he might grow on me in the next books, though!

The writing style of the book was amazing, and that’s what got me absolutely hooked! It was beautifully crafted and unlike any other writer’s work, with a mix of metaphors, similes, dialogue, voice, and action- all packed into one 338 page book. I knew right off the bat that I would want more of this wonderful writing, and now I am in need to read the rest of the trilogy SO badly, I’m aching😫.

All in all, this was a fantastic book with a creative, captivating plot and very well-developed characters, and I now understand all the hype revolving it😊. I’d recommend this to anyone looking for a cool sci-fi adventure with everything I said above, because I know you will ADORE Shatter Me!

Rating: 4.5/5 Stars!

7 thoughts on “Shatter Me Review

  1. Lynn says:

    I started reading this and I don’t remember how far I got, but now I feel like maybe I didn’t give it a fair shot. I might give it another try this year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

