Do YOU Judge Books by Their Covers?

Hi everyone!

Today I’d like to discuss with you guys whether or not you judge books by their covers, and why people tend to do so sometimes. For the record, for this post I only mean it in a literal sense, as this is a book blog, after all!

Honestly, I often do judge books by their covers. Despite the belief of not doing so, I’m pretty sure everyone does at least once in their life. If a book’s cover is white and black and/or has dull colours or images, I am much less likely to pick it up. I believe that the colours are key when creating a good book cover, and that way more readers would be intrigued to look into books if their covers have bright, amusing colours. Here is an example of what I’m talking about:

7171637.jpg

This is the cover of Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, which is the first book in a very popular series called The Infernal Devices. I know that many bloggers and readers rave about this series (even though I have no interest in reading it, haha😆). I am not a huge fan of this cover, which makes me even more reluctant to give it a try, but if the cover had bright colours and images, I probably would be more interested in reading the synopsis and seeing what’s inside the book.

I have to admit that I don’t read much fantasy, mostly because of their covers. The colours on the covers all seem to be dark and depressing, thus not really attracting me. I don’t like dark, spooky, paranormal books very much, and if a cover is like the one above, it will send a connection to that genre, which I don’t like.

But sometimes, I absolutely despise a cover, and the book turns out to be pure gold. Take the cover of The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, for example. This is one of the most loved books EVER, but its cover just doesn’t live up to what’s inside. It’s really an amazing story, but I was reluctant to pick it up at first because of the cover. I understand how some people could absolutely LOVE the cover, but I just didn’t feel it! But after I read the book,  my negative thoughts about the cover completely vanished and were replaced with the feeling of adoring this book.😝

2767052.jpg

On the other hand, some covers are absolutely extravagant, and are real works of art. (I know, I know, all book covers are supposedly works of art and that designers work so hard on attracting readers with them, but there are some specific covers that are just a little more engaging.) Take the cover of The Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson. It’s beautiful. Like, I have no words!😍😍And the content inside is beautiful as well, making this book gorgeous inside and out.❤️

17838528.jpg

I think you know what I’m going to talk about now- about books with gorgeous covers but don’t live up to the content inside. My pick for this one would have to be Pippi Longstocking by Astrid Lindgren. I didn’t dislike this book at all, nothing like that. I just found it to be a little bit young for me, and not really my taste. The cover is ADORABLE and so is the book, but still!

19302.jpg

Do YOU think it’s okay to judge books by their covers? (For me, it depends, and I can’t really explain, so I may update later when I come up with something.) Have you read any of these books and/or (dis)agree with me? Do you ever judge books by their covers? Tell me in the comments below!

Au revoir!💜

16 thoughts on “Do YOU Judge Books by Their Covers?

  1. thelibrarylizard says:

    I think covers are super important – they’re the difference between me picking a book up from a wide range of books in a bookstore or not picking it up. They’ve got to sell the book, stand out, and look amazing. Obviously, some great books have terrible covers, but I’ve often found books at book shops that I normally wouldn’t buy but was persuaded by the cover – for example, The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. sophiethestark says:

    Unfortunately, 90% of the time I do judge a book by the cover. It’s the first thing that I look at and sometimes, it will influence the way I see the synopsis. Crazy, right?
    I’ve been surprised many times, both positively and negatively, and I do try to change this awful habit. But I’m a visual person, so there’s little I can do about it 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Maddie @ Polaroid Books says:

    I agree with you 100%. I think that books covers are really important because if it doesn’t attract the reader, it will not make the reader want to read it. Sure, I say that judging a book by its cover is bad, but I do judge a book by its cover a lot of the time. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sammie @ booksandbiros says:

    I agree! I think when you have three or four books you’re trying to choose from in a shop or online, a bad cover can make the choice for you! I personally hate covers with people on the front, and a lot of New Adult book covers really put me off buying them. Especially when they have dudes with cowboy hats on the front – it’s so cheesy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

