ARC Review: The Dream Protocol!

*I received a digital ARC of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

About the book:30268886.jpg

Title: The Dream Protocol

Author: Adara Flynn Quick

Genre & Age Group: Dystopian, science fiction, fantasy, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

WHATEVER YOU DO, DON’T GET OLD.

In fiery young Deirdre Callaghan’s home of Skellig City, no one has dreamt their own dream in over a thousand years. Dreams are produced by the Dream Makers and sold by the Ministry, the tyrannical rulers of the city. In Skellig City, years of life are awarded equally and the ruined are cast away beneath the city on their 35th birthday.

Unbeknownst to the Ministry, Deirdre’s handsome friend Flynn Brennan is afflicted with a terrible disease – a disease that accelerates the aging process. Knowing his fate if the Ministry should ever discover his illness, Flynn has lived his whole life hiding from their watchful eyes. When Flynn’s secret is finally discovered, Deirdre is determined to free him from the Ministry’s grasp. But to save him, she will have to reveal herself to a shadowy enemy…one that none of them even knew existed.

Source: Thanks so much to Adara Quick via Xpresso Book Tours for providing me with an e-ARC via Netgalley!

How I Found Out About It: Netgalley

Review:

I was really expecting more of this book, and I was kind of disappointed by it. It just seemed like such a unique, interesting read about a community with restricted dreams and a citizen with progeria! I found that this book had quite a few weak spots, as well as some strong areas.

First, to be completely honest, I didn’t find that the dream situation and the incident with the boy with progeria (Flynn) really connected at all. It just seemed like there were two separate plots which was a bit confusing, but that could just be because I probably wasn’t paying attention enough, who knows? I just think that the author could have done a much better job linking the two together. For instance, how did the dreams relate to Flynn’s disease, and is there a way that they could have prevented or cured it?

Also, unfortunately, I did not feel a connection to any of the characters. At all. I did not feel like they had a lot of personality, and they were more two-dimensional. I found that the character development was really lacking. Okay, I am not going to state any of the flaws about this book anymore. I still really want to make room for the positives, as I didn’t dislike this book, there are just things that the author needs to work on.

I really enjoyed the writing style of this read! Quick’s writing is very descriptive and amazing, and I definitely, absolutely think that she should write more in the future, despite my opinion of this book. Her writing is probably the one of the only reasons why I didn’t DNF this book, but I’m sort of glad I stuck it through, because the ending was quite interesting! I was able to learn what actually happens to those who are cast away once ruined, and it’s not such a mystery anymore. Overall, even though I thought it would be, this book wasn’t really my type.

As promised, I always recommend books to the types of readers who I think would enjoy them, so I would say that anyone with a love for sci-fi or high fantasy wanting a really fast read would adore this one! Again, those genres aren’t really my cup of tea, so if they’re yours, definitely check this one out, as I’m sure you’d love it!

Rating: 2.75/5 Stars

 

Leave a Reply

