The Secret Garden Review!

About the book:742181.jpg

Title: The Secret Garden

Author: Frances Hodgson Burnett

Genre & Age Group: Historical fiction, classic, middle grade, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

When orphaned Mary Lennox comes to live at her uncle’s great house on the Yorkshire Moors, she finds it full of secrets. The mansion has nearly one hundred rooms, and her uncle keeps himself locked up. And at night, she hears the sound of crying down one of the long corridors.

The gardens surrounding the large property are Mary’s only escape. Then, Mary discovers a secret garden, surrounded by walls and locked with a missing key. One day, with the help of two unexpected companions, she discovers a way in. Is everything in the garden dead, or can Mary bring it back to life?

Source: Bought at my local Chapters/Indigo store

How I Found Out About It: My mom gifted it to me when I was a little bit younger, but I didn’t actually end up reading it until a couple months ago!

Review: Okay, I know that this is a classic and all, but I just did not understand most of the hype. I agree with most of the readers, this is a good story and it had a very creative premise, too, but the writing style just didn’t cut it for me. There was a lot of language-actually too much- that I didn’t understand, but I think that this was probably because this takes place around 100 years ago in the United Kingdom, so their language has changed and developed quite a lot since then. I just found this story to be a bit boring and dull, and it seemed to take me forever to finish it, even though it was only three days! There were so many unneeded scenes in this book, I can’t even explain it. As I said in yesterday’s review, books with too much detail really tend to bore me, and I often find myself skimming those parts. I did not really feel much of a connection with Mary or any of the other characters. I found Mary to be sort of selfish and bratty, even considering that she is only about ten. I do understand and take into account her circumstances though, as she had lost both of her parents and had to go live with her uncle who she barely knew. I know I would probably become distant and miserable like Mary did if that happened, so I respect that Mary was like that. Overall, this was just a “meh” read, and I don’t let the fact that it is a classic have any impact on my opinion. Again, if you like historical books with lots of detail, I’m sure you’ll love this book, but if you’re a teen who likes books with deep, sensitive topics, I wouldn’t recommend it.

Rating: 3/5 Stars!

 

7 thoughts on “The Secret Garden Review!

  1. itsjustjodie says:

    I love The Secret Garden! I’m 17 now but I’ve read this book repeatedly since I was around 9 and it’s stayed a firm favourite.
    I agree that Mary is most definitely not the most likeable of characters and the incestuous relationship between her and Colin makes me uncomfortable.
    However I cannot ignore the stunning image that explodes in my mind everytime I imagine finding my own secret garden. The idea to me is one which has stuck. It is largely because of this book that even now I find myself absent-mindedly looking for locked doors or holes in hedges that might lend me a similar experience.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Briana says:

    The Secret Garden was one of my favorite books as a child! I haven’t read it for years, so I have no idea how I’d feel about it now, but I read it several times as a kid! Mary is a brat, though. I get that it’s intentional, but that doesn’t really make her less annoying. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

