Gone Review and Day 25 of 30 Day Book Challenge!

Hi everyone! I will now be accepting books from publishers to review, so please go look at my review policy if you are interested in having me review your book! Anyways…

About the book:2536134.jpg

Title: Gone

Author: Michael Grant

Genre & Age Group: Dystopian, young adult

Goodreads Synopsis:

In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young.

There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what’s happened.

Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day. It’s a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: On your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else…

Source: School, I had to read it for lit circles

How I Found Out About It: My teacher showed me a few choices of books to read for lit circles, and this one seemed the most interesting!

Review: This book was okay. Not the best, but absolutely not the worst. I’m going to now list what I did and didn’t like about it:

WHAT I LIKED:

  • The characters were very developed and you could really relate to their feelings on all the adults disappearing. I especially liked Sam, he was so brave and only looked to the bright side of things in a time of worry!
  • It was pretty interesting, in the sense that all the characters and animals gained cool powers!
  • The writing style was very enjoyable.
  • It taught me to be more thankful for my family and all the adults in my life, because who knows what could happen? The adults all disappeared in a second, and there was not much time for the youngsters to grieve (because they had to take action)!

WHAT I DIDN’T LIKE

  • The book was SO LONG! Books of this length usually scare me off!
  • I usually finished my section of the book much before the group actually met, so I would open the book the evening after the last meeting and barely remember anything from before!
  • There were too many characters, and too many different plots! I got so confused while reading the book, especially as I said above when I would open the book after a few days of having the current section finished!

This is not a genre I usually read (note my review of The Giver), but I am definitely starting to warm up to dystopia, as I said in that post!

Rating: Even though there are several aspects of this book that I didn’t love, I still liked it enough for it to deserve 3/5 stars, and for the sequel to join my line of books that I want to read!

30 Day Book Challenge:

Today’s prompt is the character I can relate to the most. I would probably say Penny from Girl Online  by Zoe Sugg, because she writes a blog (like me!), she’s pretty shy and introverted, and even more! She is one of the reasons why I am in love with that series, and I really hope Sugg releases a third book! (Check out my review for the book here!)

Unknown-1 copy 2.jpeg

3 thoughts on “Gone Review and Day 25 of 30 Day Book Challenge!

Leave a Reply

