Popular Review and Day 5 Of 30 Day Book Challenge!

About the book: 18667753.jpg

Title: Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek

Author: Maya Van Wagenen

Genre & Age Group: Memoir, teen/tween

Goodreads Synopsis:

Stuck at the bottom of the social ladder at pretty much the lowest level of people at school who aren’t paid to be here,” Maya Van Wagenen decided to begin a unique social experiment: spend the school year following a 1950s popularity guide, written by former teen model Betty Cornell. Can curlers, girdles, Vaseline, and a strand of pearls help Maya on her quest to be popular?

The real-life results are painful, funny, and include a wonderful and unexpected surprise—meeting and befriending Betty Cornell herself. Told with humor and grace, Maya’s journey offers readers of all ages a thoroughly contemporary example of kindness and self-confidence.

Source: Public library

How I Found Out About It: Goodreads

Review: I loved this book so much! Maya is such a loveable character, and I totally understood the pressure she was under to be “popular” and “cool,” as I am about the same age as she was when she experienced this. I really wanted to fit in with the “cool” kids at my school and be popular until I read this amazing memoir. What I took from this book is a lifelong lesson that truly being popular just means being nice and helpful to your peers, and that the “cool” kids will not be as popular or successful in the future. I also learned to be thankful of the friends I do have, no matter if they are part of the “cool” crowd or not. From Maya’s experience, popularity actually comes from being friends with kids in all different groups, not just the one at the top of the social ladder! Even if people are not constantly up your neck to hang out or make efforts with you, you are still popular if you are friendly. Yes, it’s that simple! For any middle schooler or high schooler experiencing the dilemma of where they fit in at school, I would say that this book is a must read! You will see the whole “popularity scheme” at your school in a whole new light!

Rating: 5/5 Stars!

30 Day Book Challenge: Today’s prompt is a book that makes me happy! When I read Autumn Falls by Bella Thorne, I was in love! This book is contemporary, but it adds in a sliver of magic so it’s not your ordinary read about high schoolers! I am also currently reading the sequel and LOVING it! Review to come soon 🙂18691023.jpg

2 thoughts on “Popular Review and Day 5 Of 30 Day Book Challenge!

Leave a Reply

